Daily Archives: November 28, 2011

Who am I trying to please?                        (1 Thessalonians 2:4)       Stephanie Carter

Stephanie Carter

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Matthew 28 & 1 Thessalonians 1-3)

“We are not trying to please men but God, who tests our hearts.”  1 Thessalonians 2:4

What lessons are there for me in this Scripture?

There is guaranteed futility in trying to be a people pleaser.  If they could all be “pleased” the same way it might be possible but everyone is different.  If I try to limit my people pleasing to the ones I love I still will run into difficulties.

My goal must be to please God first.  “Lord, what do you want me to do now?  It is my top priority.”

Much of what He wants me to do will involve interactions with people.  What I say to them and what I do with them must be as God’s representative.  That may cause me to get into some trouble with them as a result.  Maybe that’s the time they need to be told graciously why I do what I do.

God knows my heart, so the Godliness of my behavior is clear to Him.  He knows my motives.

Stephanie Carter was born on November 28th.  God gave her the ability to be a wonderful daughter, wife, and mother.

Leave a comment

Filed under I Thessalonians, The Divine Mentor, Wayne Cordeiro