How does God get us to do what He wants?

“They had such a sharp disagreement that they parted company.” Acts 15:39

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading; Leviticus 7-9, and Acts 15.

Paul and Barnabas had a disagreement about John Mark. Paul didn’t want JM accompanying them while Barnabas did.

The result of the “sharp” disagreement was that Paul and Barnabas went in different directions. Barnabas took John Mark with him and Paul opted to travel with Silas.

There is plenty that can be read into this incident.

You could look at it with the intent of finding fault. Some would include this as an example of Paul’s rough-edged personality.

I prefer to see it as an example of God working in the lives of two believers. How? Instead of sending His messengers to one place, God was able to get two areas covered.

How does God get our attention? If He doesn’t want me traveling He can provide snowy conditions…….as He has done today. I could go out and drive around anyhow and later wonder why I encountered a number of near-miss situations. Those near-misses may have been God’s way of getting my attention so as to inform me that I should have stayed home.

I want to be doing what God wants me doing. Some of those things are easy figured out: Treat my wife with love, respect, and consideration. Others are not.

Both Paul and Barnabas thought they were right about John Mark. Remarkably, our amazing God used that disagreement to get twice as much evangelizing done.

We will never fully figure out His Ways. We just have to be close enough to Him that we don’t miss what His Ways are. Things in believer’s lives happen for His reasons. We must not try to figure it out……..just go with His flow!

“Lord, You are a God that I will never fully understand. Your Ways are the ways I want to be in. Help me, help me, not to miss things You have for me. Energize my trust in You. Thank You for Your Love to us sinners. Hallelujah, what a Savior!”

If God is in charge of your life then the details of your life are under His control.

+9 – Super Bowl snacking….ugh!

f8

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.