The Good News

o21“Therefore my friends, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you.  Through him everyone who believes is set free from every sin, a justification you were not able to obtain under the law of Moses.”  Acts 13:38-39

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 9-10 & Acts 13-14)

Animal sacrifices are no longer needed to get rid of sins.  Jesus took care of them.  This is the Good News!

My sins would have kept me from an after-life with God.  “Your eyes are too pure to look on evil; you cannot tolerate wrongdoing.” – Habakkuk 1:13

But God is not only just but also merciful.  Knowing the fate of all of humanity He provided a solution.  God sent Jesus to die as a sacrifice for our sins.  Jesus was the perfect sacrifice because He was sinless.

Jesus died for our sins and God raised Him from the dead as assurance that the sacrifice was accepted.

Before Jesus, people lived under the law and its consequences.  The law was great at showing that everyone was a sinner and needed another way to get right with God.  Before Jesus died, animal sacrifices did the job. With Jesus’ death, sins are forgiven by believing that He died for our sins.

“Lord, thank You for providing a way that I might live my after-life with You.  Hallelujah!  I love You for it.  Help me to live my life as a thanks offering to You.  You are surely worthy of all praise!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.