Getting it done!

o24“….my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me….” Acts 20:24

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 15 & Acts 19-20)

Paul gets it right.

We have no idea how long we will live, only God does.

Paul is driven to get done what God wants him to do right away.

I often function as if I will live forever.  I delay doing things that need to be done.  Maybe tomorrow?  Maybe the next day?  Paul appears to function differently.  He figures out what God wants done and then proceeds at once.

Paul was regularly endangered by those who disliked him.  There were no illusions that he would be loved in the next place he was at.  Therefore, he poured out the Gospel on every audience he met with little fear of the consequences.

I am still in the “tomorrow” mode spiritually.  I find it far too easy to accumulate spiritual wisdom rather than putting that wisdom into practice.

My life must be tightly bound with God.  If I can get in step with Him then I will be on His timing rather than my own.

“Lord, I want to finish my life strong in You.  You know where the distractions are.  I want to be in the race for You, not just watching from the sidelines.  I want in, God.  Help me, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.