Comforting

o25“….you are miserable comforters….”  Job 16:2

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 16 & Acts 21-23)

Job is anything but pleased with his so-called friends.  Why?  Job has lost everything and his friends insist on blaming him for it happening.

Early in the book of Job we read why Job has fallen into such hard times.  It had nothing to do with anything Job had done wrong.  But his friends are insistent.  The more they talk the harder it is for Job to restrain himself.

How do you comfort someone?  When Job’s friends first learned of his troubles they came and sat in silence with him for seven days.  As it turns out, these were their finest comforting moments.

I suspect that often the best comfort that can be offered is presence and silence.  Some call it, “Show up and shut up!”

It is hard to resist the urge to try to verbally fix things.  “Try this.”  “Don’t do that.”  Sometimes words generate the biggest hurt.

Over and over the same theme surfaces: Align yourself to God.  His Words and His Actions are what those needing comfort will be blessed by.  My godless words/actions will usually do more harm than good.

“Lord, help me.  I want to please You in everything I do.  I cannot pull that off without a close relationship to You.  Prick my conscience when I am off Your Course.  It is where I must be.  I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.