The Gospel

o26“I preached that they should repent and turn to God and demonstrate their repentance by their deeds.”  Acts 26:20

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 17 & Acts 24-26)

In the chosen verse, King Agrippa hears the Gospel from Paul.

As part of Scripture, we get to know what the key points are that Paul included as he shared the Gospel with someone.

All three key points (repent, turn, and demonstrate) Paul included in this verse are important.  To leave a part out is to lose the message entirely.

I visited a church in the area for the first time today.  The minister addressed those in the crowd who weren’t believers by emphasizing that God is great and that they should believe in Him.  However, he completely ignored the need to “repent” and “turn.”  Then he went on to encourage believers to share their faith with others.

The gospel is good news but the bad news must be presented first.  What is the bad news?  We are sinners and our sin separates us from God now and in the after-life.  “Your eyes are too pure to look on evil; you cannot tolerate wrongdoing.”  Habukkuk 1:13

Our sins sealed our separation from God but, and here is the good news, God loves us and decided to make a way for us to join Him in the after-life.  How?  He sent His Son Jesus to earth.  Jesus lived a perfect life and willingly died on the cross in our place for our sins.  The punishment for our sins was now taken care of.

How do I become a believer?  I must “repent” (I am a sinner).  I must “turn” (I don’t want the consequences of my sins so I turn to God’s solution, which is for me to believe that Jesus died for my sins.)

When I own up to the fact that I am a sinner and then believe that Jesus saved me from my sins’ consequences, I become part of God’s family.  My joy in being part of God’s family will be demonstrated, with no need for prodding, by Godly deeds.

“Lord God, I thank You for Your Word.  I trust that my understanding of this verse is accurate.  Prick my conscience if I’ve missed something, I beg.  I love You for loving me enough to die for my sins.  I didn’t deserve it and never will.  You are a great God!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.