All in but before long all out

o29“Still others, like the seed sown among thorns, hear the word; but the worries of this life, the deceitfulness of wealth and the desire for other things come in and choke the word, making it unfruitful.”  Mark 4:18-19

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 20 & Mark 3-4)

You leave the gathering fired up about Godly things.  But before long, that fire is doused by other things.

How often do we have good intentions spiritually?  It may have been something we heard or something we read.  Things are going to change…….and they do for a while.

How can I live Godly in a distracting world?

I must be filled with the Holy Spirit and stay filled.  My connectedness to God can’t be altered by good times or bad times.  Steady in Him is what I must be.

How does God tolerate me?  I am so unsteady on our spiritual feet.  I’m His best friend one moment and then totally ignore Him in another moment.  And He’s there with me the whole time!

“Fill me Lord with You.  The world is so enticing and distracting.  How easily I take my mind off of You and onto my surroundings as Peter did walking on the water.  Nothing good EVER happens to me when You aren’t my focal point.  I love You.  Prick my conscience when I’m distracted.  You are the great God!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.