Jesus gives authority

o30 hibiscus“Calling the Twelve to him, he began to send them out two by two and gave them authority over impure spirits.”  Mark 6:7

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 21 & Mark 5-6)

Jesus is in charge.

How often do I run ahead and then ask Him to bless me?  What am I thinking?

I am God’s servant not his partner.  A servant WAITS for instruction.  When that instruction comes, the servant never questions the instruction.  He just follows it.

Those sent out in this Scripture where sent out prepared by Jesus.  They would be representing Him and so He empowered them to function as they had seen Him function.

If I am in God’s will, I will be His representative full-time.  I must never forget that, “apart from Him I can do nothing (of Godly good).”

I must leave the timing of my life to Him.  I must also be certain that I am spiritually armed and Godly wherever I’m at.

It is easy for the responsibilities of this world to make life stressful.  However, if I give up control and let God lead, my strength will come from Him instead of me.  I am weak.  He is strong.

“Lord, forgive me for ever trying to flex my muscles.  I am weak and always will be.  I will always need You whether on the mountaintops or in the valleys.  I surrender to You.  I eagerly wait for Your Instructions.  Prick my conscience when I start finding strength in any way apart from You.  I love You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.