Pride comes before………

n11“So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall!”  1 Corinthians 10:12

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Psalm 122 & 1 Corinthians 9-11)

I’m reading my Bible a lot.

I’m spending time daily in prayer.

If that gets me to thinking that I can function apart from God, then I am a fool!

The more I know about God, the more I know that I need Him every step of every way I’ll ever take.

The more I commune with Him, the more certain I am His follower.

It is easy to fall into the self-righteous trap.  You begin to sense that you’ve been enlightened.  You know more than others.  You feel as if you are better than them.  If they were only like me!

So sad.  Everything I have is from God.  I didn’t earn it by anything I have done.  He gave it to me.  I will never be at a point where I’m God’s partner.  I must always be His servant.

“Lord, forgive me for acting independent of You.  I can do nothing of spiritual value apart from You.  I want to honor You.  I want to represent You wherever I am at.  You are my God.  I am gratified to be in Your family.  I surrender to You.  Lead me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.