Where were you?

n12“Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?  Tell me, if you understand.  Who marked off its dimensions?  Surely you know!”  Job 38:4-5

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 37-38 & 1 Corinthians 12)

Talk about getting a verbal whack!

Job has been unhappy with God over his treatment.  He wants a chance to tell God his side of the story.

God is uninterested in Job’s side of the story.  God knows everything.

In today’s chosen verses, God tries to give Job perspective on Who he is complaining to.

It is quite clear that God is in charge and we have no control over anything.

It is a great reminder of our actual status in relation to God.

I think of it regarding complaining.  When I complain, I am finding fault with God’s way of doing things.  Something didn’t go my way.  So what, rejoice that it went God’s way.  It is the better way.

How much happier I would be round-the-clock if I came to grips with my role in God’s universe and played that part to the best of my ability.  Let God be God and rejoice in my eternal relationship with Him.  Now that’s really living!

“Forgive me, Father, for sounding just like Job.  The world does not revolve around me.  It revolves around You.  I’m just along for the ride.  I can fight it or rejoice that I know the One in charge of everything.  You are a great God and always have been and will be.  How blessed I am to be numbered among Your children.  Lead on, O God. Thank You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.