Are you blaming God?

n13“Would you discredit my justice?  Would you condemn me to justify yourself?”  Job 40:8

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 39-40 & 1 Corinthians 13-14)

Job is getting yet another dose of, “Are you sure you know what you’re talking about,” from God.

Job was sure that what was happening to him (in Job 1) was a mistake on God’s part.  Job felt that he didn’t deserve such treatment.

Sounds a lot like myself.  “Why Lord, is this happening to my family?  Don’t You know who I am?  I haven’t done anything to deserve such as this.”  And on and on it goes…

God is COMPLETELY in charge.  “His understanding no one can fathom,” including me!  I err every time I complain because my complaints are actually against God.  I rationalize that I deserve better because I am in His family.  There is no Scripture that validates that thinking.  None of the first disciples, except John, died of natural causes.

How I long for the time when I can think, “I thank You, Lord that You are in charge of what is going on,” instead of the current, “Why is this happening to me, Lord?”

“Father, forgive me for questioning You.  I have the opportunity to question You and plenty of the psalmists did it.  Most of the time, however, those psalmists ended with affirmations of You.  I affirm right now that You are in total charge.  I am just passing through wanting to honor You as I travel.  Empower me, I beg, to be Your right representative in all that I say and do.  To You be all glory and praise forever and ever!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.