It’s worth it!

n14“Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know your own labor in the Lord is not in vain.” 1 Corinthians 15:58

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Psalm 149 & 1 Corinthians 15-16)

Nice pep talk!

Paul has been talking about the after-life, including the fact that our current perishable bodies will become imperishable.

Because of what will be for the believer, there must be a commitment to the here and now. There is Godly work to be done.

There is no glory in hardship but there is glory if I can see beyond it to what will be. I am on this earth for a short while. I need to use what I’ve been given for His Means.

Too often I function apart from God. I make plans without Him. I assume credit for things He alone has made possible.

I must be certain that I am doing God’s will. My labor will be in vain if it’s not. Too often I invite God along rather than waiting on Him.

My life must be in tight harmony with Him. What better way to be able to ascertain His Way. I must be in steady conversation with Him throughout this day. He never leaves…….I’m the one who wanders off.

“Lord, how thankful I am for Your Word. Thank You for the assurance that there is an imperishable body for me in the after-life. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit so that I know Your Way. Forgive me for independent living. I love You, Lord!”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.