What was I thinking?

n15“You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without my knowledge?’  Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know.”  Job 42:3

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 41-42 & 2 Corinthians 1-2)

Job gets the interaction with God he wants and realizes that he was way in over his head.

Job realizes that his understanding of God was limited.  God’s Things are above and beyond him.

When I complain, I am acting like Job.  In complaining, I make the assumption that God doesn’t have a clear picture of what I’m undeservedly going through.  If I could only explain my side to Him, we could make things better…..for me.

Very silly!  God is great.  I cannot even fathom Him.  He does know what is going on.  There is a Bigger Picture that I don’t know about.

I need to have a 24/7 close relationship with God.  The better I know Him the more I will realize how needy I am.  I will realize that I am not in control of my circumstances.  I will cling to Him for instruction.  I will pore over His Word for pointers on how I should live.

“Lord, I will never understand Your Ways.  I want to be on the path You want me on.  I need all the help You will give me.  Forgive me for trying to go it alone.  That always has lousy results.  You have given me every good and perfect gift.  I praise You for the blessings knowing full way that everything on earth is terminal.  My eternal life with You, however, is already underway!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.