Things here are terminal

n16“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen in eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:18

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Corinthians 3-6)

Anything that I can see is not going to last forever.

Its lack of permanence should effect how I think about them.  Why try to get “permanently” attached to something that ultimately isn’t permanent?

God is eternal.  There is an after-life.  I will face Judgment Day.  As a believer I will be with God eternally.

Because God is eternal, I want to structure my life around Him.  I want to please Him.  I want to do His bidding.

Paul is also looking at suffering in this verse.  This world has it share of troubles.  I do not have the firepower to fathom what God is doing.  I do know that He knows what He is doing and that it is ultimately for my good if I belong to Him.  Woe to those who don’t belong to Him and suffer.  Hopefully that suffering turns them to a relationship with God.

“Your Ways are beyond my fathoming.  I do know that You are forever.  I am just passing through this life on earth with a faltering body.  I believe that You are God.  I believe that I am a sinner and that You loved me enough to send Jesus to take care of my sin problem.  I thank You for that sacrifice.  I yield to Your Holy Spirit.  I want to make the Godly best of my time remaining.  I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.