Where does our help come from?

n18“Our help is in the name of the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.”  Psalm 124:8

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Psalm 124 & 2 Corinthians 11-13)

Why would I seek help from anywhere else?

God knows my needs.  God is with me.  God is all-powerful.  He is what I need.

How easy it is to trust apart from God.  My insurance.  My family.  My bank account.  But anything I can see will pass away.  God isn’t going anywhere.

I believe that God exists.  If I can’t believe that then I’m trusting in the temporal.

The God I believe in created heaven and earth.  Some writer said, “When heaven and earth disappear then I will stop trusting God!”

The tricky part (for me) is remembering that I am not privy to what God is going to do.  Things may not go the way I want them to go.  Someone might not get healed.  The results must not change my esteem of God.  He is in charge.  His Ways are not my ways.  I know that He knows what needs to be done and I must live in that assurance.

My part is to get as spiritually close to Him as possible.  I need to talk with Him and walk with Him 24/7.  Jesus slept during a storm!  Why?  He knew that no matter what happened God was taking care of Him.  I must do the same.

“Lord, help me to rest in You.  Help me to trust You.  Help me to be strong IN YOU.  I am surely weak otherwise.  I love You for all You have done for me.  Thank You for sending Jesus to die for my sins and setting up an after-life with You.  Hallelujah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.