“Have mercy, Father.”

n20“We do not make requests of you because we are righteous, but because of your great mercy.  Lord, listen!  Lord, forgive!  Lord, hear and act!  For your sake, my God, do not delay……” Daniel 9:18-19

“Lord Jesus, Son of God, have mercy on me.”

The very words of Daniel are good enough for me.

I deserve no favors from God.  I, in fact, have surely earned His disdain.

Thankfully, He is a God of mercy.  What else would have prompted Him to send Jesus to die for my heaven-separating sins?  It was because He loved me and wanted me to have an eternal lifetime with Him.

My confidence is in Him.  He has promised to never leave me or forsake me.  That’s 24/7!

I write today with a family member facing serious surgery.  My trust is in the merciful God.

I also have in mind, today, the line that Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego used (Daniel 3:18): “But even if he does not (do what we want Him to do), we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”  I will not abandon God on circumstantial evidence.  He sees a much bigger picture than I ever will see.

“Father, I love You.  I am in awe of You.  I react as Job and Thomas did as they became enlightened about You.  You know what is best and it will come to pass.  I am along for the ride.  Help me to “ride” with You and cling to You in the journey.  You are a great God.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Daniel

Comments are closed.