Want to be great?

n25“Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave.” Matthew 20:26-27

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Matthew 20-22)

The mother of two disciples had just asked Jesus to take special care of her sons.

Jesus replied that the places at the “top” were for those who cared first for the needs of others.

Certainly our culture preaches the need to get ahead. To be the best. To come in first.

I am no better in God’s sight than anyone else. Everything I have is a gift from Him. I haven’t earned the right to elevate myself above anyone else.

How does a servant of God act? “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. The Father of compassion and the God of all comfort. Who comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4.

I must be God-driven to see/hear needs around me. I must be God-driven to be responsive to needs in my midst.

“Lord, You are my God. I love You for loving me. Open me up to the needs in my midst. Open me up to Your Ways so that I will walk in them. Guide me, O thou Great Jehovah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.