Be ready

n26“Therefore keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour.”  Matthew 25:13

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible study – Matthew 23-25)

God has promised to return and no one knows when He will be back.

I need to be ready for His return.  What does that involve?  My life must be cleaned up.  The sludge must be dealt with.  I must have a keen interest in the spiritual well-being of those in my midst.  I cannot assume that they have time.  They don’t.

My life must be fully committed to Him.  There can be no part of me off His track.

I will need to attach myself to Him.  I must consciously be mindful of Him and my relationship to Him.  Too much time is spent apart from Him.  Too much time is spent enjoying myself independent of Him.  If He isn’t in what I’m doing then I should stop doing what I’m doing.  I certainly need His guidance, which means keeping close touch with Him.

“Father, help me tighten my connection to You.  I love You and I don’t want to loosen my grip on You ever.  Prick my conscience when I am off course.  Help me to prepare for Your return.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.