I need help

d1“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.” Romans 8:26

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Romans 5-8)

What a blessing for the Godly!

I am desperately weak. I don’t know what I should be doing sometimes. Other times I know what I should be doing and end up doing the opposite. I pray to God with a confused, at best, sense of what I need.

In the Old Testament Elijah was so discouraged that he prayed that God would take his life. Elijah did not get what he asked because God had plans in place for Elijah beyond that day. God hears the prayers of the righteous but gives them what He wants them to have.

There are situations where what I need to pray for is clear. Someone is sick so I pray that they get better. Sometimes I get to a place where I have options. I don’t know what to do. God does and I have His Holy Spirit within me. This verse tells me that the Holy Spirit prays for me. What could be better!

“Father, I am so weak spiritually. Thank You for giving me Your Holy Spirit as a comfort and as a helper. I cling to You. I beg for Your direction for my life. Show me Your Ways. Teach me Your Path so that I may walk rightly. I love You, Lord!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.