Pharaoh

d2“For the Scripture says to Pharaoh: ‘I raised you for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.”  Romans 9:17

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Romans 9-12)

How easy for the godless to actually think that they are in control.  They aren’t.  God is in control.

Pharaoh had no concept of the God of Israel.  He did not fear Him.

When Moses/Aaron visited Pharaoh, they were not well received.  When they told Pharaoh what God would do to Egypt he paid no heed.  Eventually, however, Pharaoh gives in allowing the Israelites to exit but changes his mind and pursues them to the Red Sea…..and death.

God used Pharaoh.  God had many reasons to eliminate Pharaoh in the early going but chose not to.  Pharaoh’s resistant heart became locked in (hardened) and in time became more hardened.

Pharaoh chose to resist God.  God, however, used that resistance to bring glory to Himself.  God could have brought glory to Himself after the first time he rejected Moses and Aaron.  Instead, God let Pharaoh enhance his hardened heart and brought everlasting praise to Himself.

I believe that Pharaoh chose the path he went down.  I also believe that similar to Joseph, God took what was evil and turned it into good.  In the Joseph case, the evil intended for him turned out for good for his entire family and Egypt.  In Pharaoh’s case, his evil became good for someone else.  “And his understanding, no one can fathom. – Isaiah 40:28”

I need to be sure that I am not continuing down a path of godlessness.  My life must be locked in to righteousness.  I must continually be getting filled with the Holy Spirit so that all of me is honoring Him.

I can also look at the evil in the world differently.  God knows what is going on.  As with Pharaoh, He can use that evil to serve His purposes.  I must never under-estimate God’s overriding power.

“Lord, You are great.  Nothing in this world is beyond You.  I am weak and foolish.  I need Your presence every second.  Do not leave me or forsake me ever.  Fill me with You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.