Keep the door closed!

d4“Do not give the devil a foothold.” Ephesians 4:27

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ephesians 1-4)

Never, never allow the devil to get into any part of your life!

In its context, this verse is about doing something wrong and then doing nothing to make spiritual restoration. When this happens the wrong gets added life within you.

When I am out of step with God, I am in step with the devil. There is no middle ground.

I must not let the “sun set” on wrongdoings. I will never forget being in a Sunday evening service and watching the minister come off the platform before he spoke. This minister/father came down to his teenaged son in the front row and apologized for something that had happened.

If I am walking in tight relationship to God I can sense wrongdoing on my part very quickly. I’m bothered by it and I know that I need to get things spiritually right at once. When I’m distant from God I often allow the after-effects of wrongdoing to smolder.

This verse is not saying I can’t be angry about something that is wrong. There is such a thing as righteous anger. This world is infested with evil. I cannot condone it with my silence.

“Lord, forgive me for ever loosening my relationship with You. I need You every second. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit to overflowing. I want to overflow with all joy and peace. I love You for loving me. Thank You for my family.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.