Bear and forgive

d7“Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”  Colossians 3:13

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Colossians 1-4)

Timely verse for me.

Scripture appears to have no tolerance for hassles among believers.  How about hassles among husbands and wives?

A verse of this sort drops the hammer at the end.  Early in the verse you create in your head what forgiveness is like.  “I’m sorry.  I won’t do it again.”  At the end of the verse you learn that you are to forgive the way God forgave.  That is a completely higher level, don’t you think!

I cannot be consistently Godly without God completely controlling my life.  There may be flashes and dashes of it but my consistency in Godliness has its depth in my relationship to Him.

I am told to forgive others the way God forgave me.  His forgiveness was unnecessary yet He did it because of His love for me.  What mercy!

I was warned via a commentary, that since God has forgiven others of their sins, what would ever suggest that I too shouldn’t forgive them as well?  Recall the parable where a person has a huge debt cancelled and then refuses to cancel a debt that is owed to them.

“Lord, I need You.  Talk is often cheap on my part.  My desperate neediness is a reality.  So quickly I fall into sin.  So quickly I’m unwilling to bear and forgive as You did and want me to do.  I am sorry for that, Lord.  Make me mindful of my waywardness.  Fill me with Your Holy Spirit. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Colossians

Comments are closed.