What am I training for?

d8“For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”  1 Timothy 4:8

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Timothy 1-4)

Is godliness more important to me than healthiness?  It should be!

How much time do I put into building up my spiritual health?  Do I go to the gym or a health club?  How does that amount of commitment compare to my time invested in the pursuit of godliness?

I will be a product of my most committed time.  That time doesn’t have to be directly designated; it just turns out to be getting the greatest commitment.

It is embarrassing for me to actually connect my commitment time to what my life is.  Why am I like I am?  Check where I’m committed.  Why am I not where I should be spiritually?  Check where my time is committed.

I understand that most of you reading this are working.  The time commitment I’m writing about is not the work time.  I am writing about the time you have control over beyond work.

There is so much punishing truth in this passage.  God is not mocked.  I’ll reap what I sow.

I must open my life to God.  I want His Holy Spirit in complete control of me.

“O Lord, I am desperately needy.  I cannot do anything that pleases You unless You are directing me.  I surrender to You.  Take over my time.  Take over my commitments.  I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Timothy

Comments are closed.