Are you a practicing Christian?

d9“….these should learn first of all to put their religion into practice….” 1 Timothy 5:4

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 1 Timothy 5-6 & Titus 1-3)

Woe to those of us who are hearers but not doers!

We immerse ourselves in church and home devotions and come away with only knowledge.  This is like studying all there is to know about cars and yet never buying one and driving it.  What a waste of time.

This verse calls out that idiotic behavior.  I am told to “practice” what I believe.  Put legs on it!  Live it out!

How frustrating it is to live an ungodly life despite having a head full of information on how to live a Godly life.  I must be a doer and not just a hearer.

The more I read/study/memorize Scripture the clearer its truths become to me.  I have reached the “overflowing” level when it comes to spiritual truths.  Would that I would apply those accumulated truths to my thoughts and actions this day.

“Lord, bulls-eye Scripture.  I must live out what You have enabled me to learn about Godliness.  Forgive me for collecting and reflecting only.  Saturate me with Your Holy Spirit now.  Wash away the evil that gets me all smart and puffed up but sidelined when it comes to living out what I believe.  You are a great God.  Thank You for loving me.  Open me up to an awareness of ways to practice my religion.  I love You, Lord.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Timothy

Comments are closed.