Do it His Way

d10“For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.”  2 Timothy 1:7

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Timothy 1-4)

My way and God’s Way are incompatible.

God will give me everything I need to rightly represent Him.  As a believer, I have His Spirit within me.

When I am afraid to represent Him that fear is of the devil.  I suspect that fear is a primary de-motivator for many potentially outgoing believers.  What will they think of me?  How will they react?  Will I mess up a relationship?  I am not fully qualified to explain God to others?  And on and on it goes………….and Satan chortles in pleasure!

In this verse, God gives important instructions to believers.  There is no need for me to be afraid if my power comes from Him.  If I’m winging it, then I’ll settle into spiritual quicksand sooner and/or later.  To rightly represent Him I must be a Godly lover of all.  I can’t reserve my Godly reactions for those who humor me.  I have to be spiritually under His control.

I must have Him running my life 24/7.  There can be no coasting.  There can be no independent living.  History confirms that great damage is done apart from God.

The key point (for me) is that my fear of representing Him is devil driven.

“Lord, plenty to mull over in this verse.  Thank You for Your Word.  Fill me with Your Holy Spirit.  I know that in You I can rightly represent You in the world I live in.  Forgive me for lamely finding excuses to be hesitant.  My power, love, and self-discipline must come directly from You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Timothy

Comments are closed.