Instructions for a Godly life

d15_1“Submit yourselves, then, to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  Come near to God and he will come near to you.  Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.  Grieve, mourn and wail.  Change your laughter to mourning and your joy to gloom.  Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.”  James 4:7-10

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – James 1-5)

What a book!

My reading plan has me reading the entire book called, “James,” in one sitting.  Then I try to choose one verse, or one set of verses, that I can apply to my life but discover that the entire book fits that prerequisite!

I intend to get James 4:7-10 memorized.  I see so much guidance in those verses on living the Godly life.

I am definitely drawn to the end part.  I live so often as if I have figured everything out.  That my life is in tune with God.  But it never is!  I am a sinner and always will be a sinner.

I’m told to, “Wash my hands.”  That involves getting the “public” me right in Him.

I’m told to, “Purify my heart.”  That involves getting the “private” me right in Him.

I think immediately of the man in Scripture who would not even look upward when praying because he realized that he was an unworthy sinner.  How often do I relate to his praying partner who boasted in his worthiness to approach God?  I am unworthy.  I must approach God humbly.

And then there’s the great ending……….”and he (God) will lift you up.”  What mercy and so undeserved!

“Father, forgive me for my pride.  I am an unworthy sinner.  I don’t want to sin but I fail miserably.  Cleanse me from my unrighteousness and “lift me up” as You promised.  I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under James

Comments are closed.