Being His disciple

d20“If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.  Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  John 8:31-32

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – John 7-8)

God is not mocked.  He knows if we belong to Him or not.

My identification as one of God’s own reveals itself in my doing what He has commanded me to do.  I don’t obey because it will get me right with God.  I obey because I am already right with Him and love Him enough to want to please Him.

What truths am I going to know?  The key one is that I will know what is spiritually valuable and what isn’t.  Some things that I think are important are merely counterfeit gods.  They won’t last and they are unimportant ultimately to a Godly person.  As I am close to Him, as a disciple must be, I will get insights into the truly important things as God sees them.

In Him, I will be set free from fear.  If He is with me, who can be against me?  That doesn’t mean that I won’t have trouble but it does mean that I have Him with me through anything and everything.  That is a comfort!

“Lord, You are my God.  I thank You for loving me enough to send Jesus to die for my heaven-separating sins.  I want to be Your disciple no matter what.  Teach me Your Way, O Lord.  Show me Your Path.”

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.