Proof that I know Him

d25“Whoever says, ‘I know him,’ but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in that person.”  1 John 2:4

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible study – 1 John 1-5)

The measure of my godliness is whether or not I’m doing what God wants me to do.

It is not enough for me to say that I am His follower.  All those in my midst have heard my talk.  They are equally aware of my walk.  My talk/walk must be in synch!

John’s language is strong (“liar”) describing those whose words/deeds don’t match up.

My relationship to God must be completely close.  I want to please Him in everything I do.  That certainly includes word and deed.

I must be determined to know God as well as I can.  I cannot plead ignorance about what He expects.

I need to be certain that I am obeying Him.  I have to walk closely with Him all day long.

“Lord, help me.  I want my talk/walk to totally honor You.  Your love for me is overwhelming.  I deserve none of it.  It is pure grace and I thank You for it.  May Your Holy Spirit saturate my life.  I cannot function in a Godly way on my own.  I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 John

Comments are closed.