Prepare for the future

d29“This calls for patient endurance on the part of the people of God who keep his commands and remain faithful to Jesus.”  Revelation 14:12

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Revelation 10-14)

I read Revelation and wonder what it all means.  Things mentioned stand for other things not mentioned.  It is easy material to consider unfathomable…….and maybe some of it is.

However, every now and then I come across a verse that is fathomable, like the one chosen today.

I may not understand the future but I know, from this verse, what is expected of me.  It instructs me to patiently endure, in a Godly fashion, the present and the future.

I do not have the firepower to handle any of life’s circumstances on my own.  Minus God I will be impatient.  Minus God I will not have the staying power to last and find out what He has for me in the future.

The perpetual theme that I get from Bible reading and studying is that I must be close to God.  It overrides everything.

The thought of closeness to God is not a new one.  Why is it that I write of it so often?  My answer is that the reality of it being the necessary spiritual core never goes away no matter what part of the Bible I’m reading.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Spirit of God, I thank You for Your presence within me.  I open myself entirely to You.  Expose the areas of my life that must change.  Expose the areas that need to be set for the long haul.  Help me stay tight to You full-time.  Help me, Spirit of God, I beg!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Revelation

Comments are closed.