Consistency

Anguilla 4“So he bent over her and rebuked the fever, and it left her.  She got up at once and began to wait on them.”  Luke 4:39

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Genesis 9-11 & Luke 4)

Jesus had been through a busy day in public.  Now He was among friends at Peter’s house.  A time to relax?  Not yet.

Peter’s mother-in-law was in the house and very sick.  Peter and the others asked Jesus help her.  Jesus was quick to rebuke the fever and restore the woman to full health.

Take note of the example of Jesus.  He doesn’t change no matter what the setting.  I often do.

Why isn’t the person I am in public the same person I am in private?  Am I sometimes Godly in one place and not in another?  The answer is a pitiful, “Yes!”

Jesus never changed because He was God.  As a believer, I have the Spirit of God within me.  But do I live in that reality?  Not always.

I must be in close relationship to God 24/7.  I cannot slide away from Him anywhere.  Too much of that “sliding away” thing for me goes on at home.  I cannot ever lessen my hold on Him.

“Lord, I always need Your help.  I do what I don’t want to do otherwise.  Forgive me for disconnecting from You at any time.  Help me to nourish my relationship with You so that location has no bearing on performance.  I love You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.