Doing what God wants

ja5“So Abram went, as the Lord had told him…” Genesis 12:4

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Genesis 12-14 & Luke 5)

Obedience to God. Am I willing?

Abram put some serious trust in God. He was told to leave his family behind as well as the territory that had been home to him. Off he went!

I need to be willing to do whatever God wants me to do. I am well aware of my failings in the so-called little things of life. God knows my capabilities. If I will just make my surrender to Him total I will then have the firepower to do anything He wants me to do.

So often the core of my struggles centers on my disconnecting from God. I react on my own. I respond on my own. I get into godless quicksand.

Abram made the commitment to take God at His Word and leave home.

I must have a direct connection to God. My attachment to God often seems to have the adherence of the cheapest tape made. A little resistance and disconnect from Him soon follows.

“Lord, I love You. Forgive me for disconnecting from You. Thanks to Your Holy Spirit within me, I am well aware of when You and I have parted company. I do not like the feeling I get when I realize it. I want to be tight with You. Clear away everything in my life that is negatively impacting my connection to You. Bring it to my attention, I beg. I yield to You. I take You at Your Word as Abram did. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Genesis

Comments are closed.