Love for family

ja7“Then Abraham approached Him and said: “Will you sweep away the righteous with the wicked?”  Genesis 18:23

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Genesis 18-19 & Psalm 3 & Luke 7)

Abraham cared deeply about his family.

Abraham and his nephew Lot had separated.  Lot had settled in Sodom.

When the Lord and two others visited Abraham they brought word that in a year Abraham would have a son.  Abraham also learned that God was going to destroy Sodom and Gomorrah because of their wickedness.

When Abraham heard “destroy” and “Sodom” in the same sentence his thoughts turned immediately to the fact that his nephew (Lot) lived there with his family.

Because Abraham loved his family he began to intercede with God on their behalf.  He didn’t want anything to happen to them.

Abraham’s pleading intercession lessened the number of righteous needed for the city to be spared.  Even that wasn’t enough as the story in Genesis 18 goes on to describe.  The two angels that do go to Sodom end up having to pull Lot, his wife, and two daughters out of the city.

Quite a story.  I see family interceding for family.  I see a Godly individual pleading to God for the lives of those he loves.  Abraham is actually negotiating with God to increase the chances that Lot and his family will survive.

I want my family to survive.  They have needs and concerns.  Using Abraham as an example, I am encouraged to intercede to God for family members as he did.  Thank You, Father for that insight!

“Lord, I want to do what You want me to do.  I care about my family.  You know the needs and You are able to do exceedingly abundant above all that I may ask or think.  Praise Your Name!  Guide them, and guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Genesis

Comments are closed.