Getting it right

ja9“‘As for me, the Lord has led me on the journey to the house of my master’s relatives.'” Genesis 24:27

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Genesis 23-24 & Luke 9)

Abraham’s servant was given quite the assignment: Find a wife for my son Isaac.

The wife-to-be was not to be from the area they were in; instead she was to be found in the area where Abraham had come from.

What could go wrong?? Unlimited possibilities. The servant, as a result, made sure that Abraham freed him of responsibility if he was unsuccessful in getting the wife-to-be.

How would the servant know the right woman? Another good question. But the servant still took the journey to Abraham’s homeland.

When the time came to choose a woman for Isaac, the servant appealed to God for help. That help came and was confirmed in a remarkable way.

Uncertainty comes to all of us at various times and in various ways. What should I do? What shouldn’t I do?

God knows the uncertainties of His children. We are wise to confirm that uncertainty with Him and seek His direction.

Uncertain times are times to seek from God, “open doors,” and/or “closed doors.” This appeal is part of seeking Godly clarity.

There are times, confirmed by Scripture, when what to do is very clear………..”Be considerate as you live with your wife.” Other times, not so much. In those cases I will pray something like this; “Lord, I’m uncertain. Please open the door to where you want me to go and likewise close the door to places I must stay away from.”

For me the open door/close door approach needs to be a frequent appeal to God, otherwise I will set up counterfeit gods that are hard to displace.

“Lord, I need You every second. Reveal Your Way for me. Thank You for the example of Abraham’s servant. He clearly put the “door” thing in Your Hands and found the right wife for Isaac as a result. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Genesis

Comments are closed.