Motives

ja14“But when you give a banquet, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed.  Although they cannot repay you, you will be repaid at the resurrection of the righteous.”  Luke 14:13

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Genesis 34-36 & Luke 14)

Am I Godly for an earthly reward?

This verse is clear that believers’ rewards will come on the Judgment Day.

How easy it is to measure the earthly reward before doing the Godly thing.  Am I hoping that someone will notice what I’ve done?  Am I eager to blab about my good deeds?  Painful questions because of the likely answers.

Can I go through life being Godly without the need for acclaim?  Scripture seems to say that if I draw attention to my deeds and get praise for them I will have gotten all the reward I will ever get.  There is no reward for such contrived action on Judgment Day.  That is an alarming concept.

I must do Godly deeds without notifying anyone.  I love God and want to do everything in a way that pleases Him.  I will please Him when my sole objective in any action is to show my love for Him.

“Lord, today’s verse is a hard truth for me.  I often silently crave affirmation and I shouldn’t.  I want to show my love for You and thrive knowing You love me.  Forgive me for taking my eyes off of You.  You are my God.  I love You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.