Keep on praying

ja18“Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.”  Luke 18:1

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Genesis 44-46 & Luke 18)

The more I pray the better I get to know God.

I do not know God’s timing so when I pray telling God what to do I should not be alarmed when my prayers of that sort aren’t answered as I want.

The chosen verse encourages persistence in prayer.  The occasional approach to prayer is not effective.

I need to live a Godly life.  Walking with God will assist me in being in agreement with Him.  That agreement will impact the effectiveness of my prayers.

I believe that I need to be persistent in praying for the salvation of family members.  I plan to be relentless in that quest.  They need God.

One offshoot of praying for things is that I also have to open myself up to being willing to be part of a solution.  A family member unsaved?  Maybe God is waiting for me to be involved.  Maybe He is preparing me to be involved.  By praying I understand that I may have a part, with God’s leading, in the solution.

“Lord, I open myself up to Your leading.  What do You want me to do?  Help me to know what it is and do it.  Praying for others is a definite.  Keep me mindful of Your power.  You can change the sun!  I lift up and lower before You, my family.  Father, bless them, through me if need be.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.