House of prayer

ja19“My house will be called a house of prayer.”  Luke 19:46

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Genesis 47-48 & Psalm 10 & Luke 19)

God’s house is to be known for its praying.

At the House of Pizza everyone knows that pizza is the primary offering.  Other things are served but pizza is the main feature.

How about the church?  When you think of the specific church you regularly attend, what is the main feature there?  Is it the minister?  Is it the music?  Is it the programs that are going on there?

If your church is one in which you wonder if anyone is praying, other than the minister on Sunday morning, than the chosen verse should be alarming.

Prayer is a special relationship with God.  As a believer I love God and want to communicate with Him often.

My relationship with God starts out personal and stays personal but also moves into group mode.  Acts 1:14: “THEY all joined together CONSTANTLY in prayer, along with the women….”  This was the model for the earliest Christians and it should be the model for Godly churches today.

I am surely taking liberties with the verse but I want my home (house) to be a home of prayer.  I want to pray there spontaneously and often.  I cannot let the activities in my midst negatively impact my praying relationship to God.  I must stay close to Him.

“Lord, I thank You for Your Word.  May churches be known as, “Houses of Prayer,” as You intend them to be.  May my home be a place when prayer is practiced spontaneously. I love You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.