Shiphrah and Puah

ja21“And because the midwives (Shiphrah and Puah) feared God, he gave them families of their own.”  Exodus 1:21

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Exodus 1-2 & Psalm 88 & Luke 21)

Shiphrah and Puah were Hebrew midwives in Egypt.  They were told by Pharaoh to kill Hebrew male newborns.  Because of their love for God they figured out a way to avoid doing it.

God approved of their activities and gave Shiphrah and Puah families of their own.

God knows what’s going on.  He’s not missing any detail.  He blesses those who do His will.

I believe that we have a minimal notion of the workings of God.  I don’t think that the Bible only includes highlights of His deeds.

Jesus was truly amazing.  The book of John closes with this verse, “Jesus did many other things as well.  If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.” (John 21:25)

In the story of Shiphrah and Puah we aren’t told whether or not these two women even asked God for families.  He just supplied them.  God knew the desires of their hearts.

I must never underestimate God.  I must never assume that something must happen.  God can change things.

I need to approach God with the passion of Hannah.  She stopped assuming that she wouldn’t have a child and said that “she was pouring out my soul to the Lord,” for a child. (1 Samuel 1:15)  Later we read that, “the Lord remembered her,” prayer. (1 Samuel 1:19)  Hannah eventually had a son named Samuel.

I must magnify God as I look at any situation.  There are no boundaries for Him.  His only limitations are created by me.

“Lord, I thank You for stories of You in action.  They are remarkable.  Your blessings are innumerous.  I thank You for the stories of Your greatness that are yet to be heard.  You have always been a great God and will always be a great God.  Help me to never underestimate You.  Fill me with the passion needed to storm heaven’s doors.  I love You, Lord.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus

Comments are closed.