Pharaoh was led by God

ja23“I will harden Pharaoh’s heart…..” Exodus 7:3

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Exodus 6-8 & Luke 23)

Pharaoh thought that he was in charge of everything.  He wasn’t!

The chosen verse reminds me of Ezra 1:1 – “The Lord moved the heart of Cyrus King of Persia.”  Another world leader involuntarily doing what God wanted.

How can I not see that if God can impact the behavior of these world leaders He can certainly impact the behavior of the current world leaders?  I must never place anyone off-limits from God.  I can pray for world leaders knowing that I have history to prove that God can influence them.

Life is full of obstacles.  Some are big and some are small.  In all of them I can be sure that there hasn’t been an obstacle created that God cannot overcome.

Pharaoh became an obstacle under God’s guidance to His people.  It was Pharaoh’s resistance that elevated the magnitude of the deliverance God had in mind.  Generations ahead would revel in the story of the deliverance from Egypt and note God’s hand in it.

God had told Moses and Aaron that He was going to get His people out of Egypt.  The obstacles along the way were part of His plan.  The Hebrews needed to remember God’s assurance of deliverance as they faced Pharaoh’s obstacles.  If the Hebrews had given in to Pharaoh then they would have missed out on God’s promised deliverance.

I must be persistent in Godliness.  Wrong must not be an ultimate obstacle.  It is, at best, a temporary obstacle.  I must pray on in Him.

“Lord, I thank You for glimpses of Your control over all that goes on.  Pharaoh and Cyrus were used by God.  They would have never imagined that Anyone could manipulate them but You did.  You are in charge.  Forgive me for ever doubting Your authority.  I love You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus

Comments are closed.