Providing on His schedule not mine

ja26“You are not grumbling against us, but against the Lord.” Exodus 16:8

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Exodus 14-16 & Acts 2)

When the Israelites left Egypt, at the leading of Moses, their struggle to trust God became clear.

The Israelites’ lives in Egypt were miserable. They were working slaves. But as they saw it, over and over, at least they were alive. Their thinking was that by doing what God/Moses told them they would get killed.

The Israelites did not like the way that they were being cared for. Why? Because it meant relying on Someone else. They wanted to live their lives on their terms, not God’s terms.

Their grumbling started early and seldom waned.

Will I completely trust God? Will I yield my agendas to Him? Will I say, “Not my will but thine be done?”

Food was provided daily for the Israelites. They couldn’t store it. They had to trust that God would provide it (manna) the next day. And He did.

How difficult it is to surrender my plans? I so frequently forget that Father knows best. How often do I get involved in something and THEN ask Him to bless me. That’s the old cart-before-the-horse routine. Never a good idea!

“Father, forgive me for ever assuming that I know on my own what is best for me. I don’t know and never will. I must surrender to You completely………and keep doing it as my day unfolds. You do know what is best. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus

Comments are closed.