Lying

ja29“You have not lied just to human beings but to God.” Acts 5:4

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Exodus 23-24 & Psalm 14 & Acts 5)

It is easy to forget God.

My reaction to sin reveals how this plays out. I sin and I feel badly about it. I go to the person I have sinned against and apologize and ask for forgiveness. End of story.

What have I missed? The chosen verse points out the missing piece……..God.

My sin is against God. I need to confess my sin to Him.

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

Sin impacts my prayer life. When I am about to come to Him in prayer it often seems as if I become very much aware of my sins. I don‘t want my prayers hindered so I am eager to get clean.

“Lord, I want to always be clean before You. Reveal my sins to me so that I can confess them to You and be cleansed. I want to be unburdened of my sins so that I can rightly represent You in my midst. I love You, Lord.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.