His Words

ja30“But they could not stand up against the wisdom the Spirit gave him as he spoke.”  Acts 6:10

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Exodus 25-27 & Acts 6)

Stephen’s critics were overmatched.

When his opponents tried to argue against Stephen he simply overwhelmed them verbally.  How?  The Spirit gave Stephen wise words as he spoke.

This wasn’t one of those pre-talk preparations for Stephen.  He just spoke the words of the Holy Spirit to his opponents on the spot.  That’s powerful!

If I am filled with the Holy Spirit then the words I speak must be His Words.  If something else is coming out of my mouth then at least part of me is not filled with Him.

There is Scripture that says that what comes out of my mouth is the overflow of my heart.  If my words are godless then I surely have a heart problem.  I must be separated from God for some reason or reasons and will reveal that status everywhere I speak until I realign myself to Him.

The certainty of my spiritual condition is so easy to detect………..just listen to me.

“Lord, I thank You for Your Holy Spirit dwelling in me.  Forgive me for ever lessening my relationship to You.  I want it to be true that, ‘with all my heart I have sought Thee.’  You are a great God.  I surrender to You.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.