Barnabas

f4“He (Barnabas) was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and faith, and a great number of people were brought to the Lord.”  Acts 11:24

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Exodus 37-38 & Psalm 19 & Acts 11)

What a wonderful description!

I think that the third part of the verse, “and a great number of people were brought to the Lord,” has everything to do with the part of the verse previous to it.

How so many of us long for the salvation of relatives and folks in our midst.  We pray in that fashion but are we good people full of the Holy Spirit and faith?  If we’re not, then how can God use us?

I must get my life right with God.  That’s number one and there is no second number!

How easily I see the needs around me while missing my own neediness.  My neediness is from not being filled with God.  I want it.  I chase it.  I latch onto it occasionally but I don’t stay submerged in Him.  Tight alignment to God is ongoing.  There are no timeouts, no intermissions.  It’s game on, all the time!

“Lord, fill me with You and keep filling me so that I can rightly represent You full-time.  Forgive me for attempting to enlist You to cover for my many spiritual weaknesses.  I want the three ingredients attributed to Barnabas: Godly behavior, filled with the Holy Spirit, and strong in faith in You.  I can’t get them on my own………I need You!  Help me, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.