The Gospel

“Therefore, my friends, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you.  Through him everyone who believes is set free from every sin, a justification you were not able to obtain under the law of Moses.”  Acts 13:38-39

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Leviticus 1-3 & Acts 13)

Paul puts the Gospel into clear language.

The law was meant to alert us of our sinfulness.  We just are unable to follow all the rules because we were born sinners, and have been sinners, and will be sinners until the day we die.

The consequence of my sinfulness is separation from God in the after-life.  But these verses deliver the good news…….Jesus took care of my sin problem when He died as the perfect sacrifice for my sins.

“My sins are gone, I’ve been set free.  My God my Savior has ransomed me.”

My road to that salvation involves owning up to my sinfulness and believing that God provided a way for my sins to be forgiven when He sent Jesus to earth to die for my sins.

The Gospel has never changed yet so many folks miss it.  Some think that they’re good enough to be acceptable to God.  Others find God’s solution to heaven-separating sins to be too simple.

God has to prepare the hearts of the hearers.  I can’t reason them into accepting that the Gospel is true.  However, God may have a part for me to play.  My task, which I repeat frequently in this blog, is to be tightly aligned to God.  I want to be with Him 24/7.  What a Savior!

“Lord, I thank You for loving me so much that You made a way for me to have an after-life with You.  I do not deserve it.  I open my life to You.  Direct my life.  You are everything to me.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.