God opens hearts

“The Lord opened her heart to respond to Paul’s message.”  Acts 16:14

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Leviticus 10-12 & Acts 16)

This is more of the theme: God being God.

How silly to imagine that I have control.  I don’t.  God does.

So many examples of God being over all.  He moved the heart of Cyrus.  He hardened the heart of Pharaoh.  Here He is opening Lydia’s heart.

There is nothing and no one off-limits to God.  I must never forget that when I think that He can’t change the hearts of powerful people and not-so powerful people.

To understand His Power is to get a glimpse of the necessity of interceding for people.  God is Someone Who has the power to alter and transform anyone.  I must be the persistent widow in my approach to interceding with this truth in mind.

If someone is not a believer it would be for one of two reasons; (1) God has not opened their heart to receive, or (2) God has opened their heart but no one has offered the Gospel to them.

What an indictment of me if that second one is true!  I must be saturated with God so that I rightly represent Him in every situation.  Lord, help me!

“Father, You power is unlimited.  You are not only omnipresent but omnipotent.  Forgive me for limiting You in my words and deeds.  Fill me with You so that I can rightly represent You in my midst.  Prick my conscience when I’m messing up.  I love You, Lord.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.