Verifying the truth

“…for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.”  Acts 17:11

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Leviticus 13-14 & Acts 17)

Brian Williams of NBC made the news this week because at least one story he told about himself was a lie.

Because I hear something doesn’t make it true, even if it is from someone I have trusted in the past.

That is why writing often includes citation.

In today’s chosen verse the folks that Paul was talking to listened to him eagerly BUT they also were sure to get into the Old Testament Scriptures to verify what he said.

I have to be very sure when I write this blog that I am accurate.  I pray before I read/write asking for Godly insights.  I pray that the readers will gain Godly insights from reading this blog.  I surrender the whole process to Him.

I find that as I read the Scriptures for myself I often see things in ways I never did before.  Some of the passages have been covered in sermons that I have heard/read yet in my own reading insights appear.  The Word becomes more than words!

I want to know God.  What a blessing it is to have His Word available as a way to get to know Him!

“Lord, You are a great God.  You have given me so much.  Help me to understand Your Word.  Help me to apply its truths to my life.  I want to please You.  Saturate me with Your Holy Spirit I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.