Led by the Spirit

“…compelled by the Spirit….”  Acts 20:22

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Leviticus 20-22 & Acts 20)

Paul believed that God wanted him to go to Jerusalem.  How did he know this?  He was “compelled by the Spirit.”

How does God speak to His followers?

I believe that I “hear” from Him via the thoughts that come into my head.

“And we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5

I have had thoughts come into my head that were not connected to my normal thinking.  What I’m saying is that I wouldn’t have had those thoughts otherwise.  It is usually something that I should do that I had either considered and resisted or hadn’t thought of at all.  There is no time pattern to it but I do know that if I am walking closely with God that type of thinking is more likely to occur.

I am instructed to make the thoughts “obedient” to Christ so I must confirm that they are Godly.  I have plenty of godless compulsive thoughts that must be discarded immediately.

I must respond to Godly thoughts.  In today’s chosen verse, Paul feels “compelled.”  He may want to dismiss the idea of leaving where he was but the thought that he must leave lingers.  And Paul takes the idea of leaving on as a message to him from God.

I believe the same thing is true for me.  If God gives me a thought on something I should do I dare not dismiss it.  I want to hear from Him in the future.

“Today if you would hear His voice do not harden your hearts…”  Psalm 95:7-8

“Lord, You are my God.  I long to know what I should be doing.  Speak to me in any way You choose.  Open me up to be receptive.  Open me up to do what You want.  Fill me with You.  Saturate my lifestyle with You.  I want nothing else.  Thank You for Your Word.  I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.