I will send you such a blessing!

“You may ask, ‘What will we eat in the seventh year if we do not plant or harvest our crops?’  I will send you such a blessing in the sixth year that the land will yield enough for three years.’”  Leviticus 25:20-21

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Leviticus 25 & Psalms 25-26 & Acts 22)

God was setting out for the Israelites the way they were supposed to live when they reached the Promised Land.

Part of the instructions included giving their land a complete rest every seven years.

The natural question the Israelites had was about how they would have food if they didn’t work their fields that seventh year.

What a great answer they got from God!  According to Him, the Israelites were going to get enough food from their sixth year of growing crops that they would have enough for the next three years.

This is another example for me to add to my “God being God” collection.

To take a field and enable it to provide an extra three years of crops is unfathomable.  It’s God!

The Israelites would have to trust God to provide.  Am I willing to do the same?

What do I do when a problem comes along?

First thing?  “What am I going to do?”  That gets me off on the wrong foot from the get-go.

How about, “Why is this happening?”  Another wrong-foot approach.

Best: “Lord, what is happening is no mystery to You.  Guide me in it and through it.  My trust in is You.”

Psalm 25:4-5 – “Show me your ways, Lord, teach me your paths.  Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Leviticus

Comments are closed.