Doing what He wants

“So the Israelites did everything the Lord commanded Moses.”  Numbers 2:34

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Numbers 1-2 & Acts 24)

The Israelites are good role models in this instance.

God told Moses to get a count of them and they cooperated.

The Israelites certainly didn’t always obey but in this case they did.

Much of my life involves choices.  Many of the choices are clearly put before me.  In many I know what to do and what not to do.

In many situations the Israelites were told what they should do but wouldn’t do it.  That aroused God’s anger.

I cannot expect God’s blessing if I opt to behave contrary to His commands.  When He says, “Love your wife,” I will do that and please Him or not do it and arouse His anger at me.

I am a sinner by nature.  Jesus erased my sins when He died on the cross for them.  Because I love Him I want to show that love by doing what He wants me to do.

There is great joy in doing what He wants.  I am not promised a life of ease but I am comforted that His Will is getting done through me.

“I love You, Lord.  Forgive me for waywardness.  Your Way is always the best way.  Guide me into it.  Prick my conscience when I mess up and don’t realize it.  I want my relationship with You to be tight and right.  Help me, I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Numbers

Comments are closed.