Underestimating God

“The Lord answered Moses, ‘Is the Lord’s arm too short?’”  Numbers 11:23

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Numbers 10-11 & Psalm 27 & Mark 1)

Surprising behavior by Moses.

Some of the Israelites are tired of eating manna.  They want meat and before long their numbers increase.  Soon they are pestering Moses about the lack of meat.

Moses is overwhelmed by the dissatisfaction.  He complains to God about this new weight he is forced to put up with.

God is angry at their dissatisfaction and promises to deliver more than enough meat.

Moses follows by questioning what God can do about their lack of meat.  Moses references fish from the sea or killing their flocks and concludes that neither would be adequate to supply the meat needs of so many.  Moses is somehow able to forget all that God has already done for the Israelites.

God’s answer questions Moses’ estimation of Him.  “Is the Lord’s arm too short?”  Moses needed a refresher course on God‘s capabilities.

I must never underestimate God.  I must magnify Him.  I must realize that any problem I face is not overwhelming to God.  It only becomes overwhelming when I am trusting in myself to deal with it.  That was what happened to Moses.

“Lord, I need You every second.  I cannot rightly represent You unless I trust You completely.  Forgive me for ever underestimating You and magnifying problems.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Numbers

Comments are closed.