God hears

“Miriam and Aaron began to talk against Moses because of his Cushite wife, for he had married a Cushite.  ‘Has the Lord spoken only through Moses?’ they asked.  ‘Hasn’t he also spoken through us?’  And the Lord heard this.”  Numbers 12:1-2

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Numbers 12-13 & Psalm 90 & Mark 2)

As the leader, Moses was first in line for taking heat.  Second-guessers would be sure to single him out.

In today’s verses Moses is confronted by jealousy from his siblings, Aaron and Miriam.  The start of their complaint has to do with Moses marrying a Cushite but the real issue is beyond that.  They are peeved that because of Moses’ interaction with God he is held in higher regard then they are.  That bothers them and they have started to complain about Moses’ elevation over them privately.

Aaron and Miriam may be complaining privately but as verse two states, “the Lord heard this.”  Whoops!

God knows what is going on.  There is plenty of Scriptures that tell us that God has no earthly borders.  He is omnipresent.

Not only does God hear the complaining done by Aaron and Miriam but He will soon punish them.

I need to know that EVERYTHING I say is known to God.  Furthermore, as the Pharisees learned according to Mark 2, I need to know that EVERYTHING I think is known to God.

I must rightly represent God in all that I do.  There is no away time.  There is no drifting.  And God knows when I do any of this waywardness.

“Lord, I love Your Word.  I love the examples of Your remarkable power.  There is no one like You.  Forgive me for ever acting as if You are not omnipresent.  Nothing is off-limits to You.  When I ask You to intervene in my family I know that it can be done and I ask now that it will be done.  Thank You, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Numbers

Comments are closed.